The office of the County Treasurer was established by the Michigan State Constitution (Article VII), Section 4. The four-year term of the office is filled by the partisan election. The two main roles of the treasurer are as the custodian of all county funds, and the collector of taxes. Many of the County's departments collect money in the course of their business, which is deposited with the treasurer who is, in a sense, the county's banker.
For name and/or address changes, please contact the county Equalization Department at (231) 592-0108.
Summer Collection of State Education Tax 2002 PA 244
The Michigan Legislature passed Senate Bill 1165, now Public Act 244 of 2002 mandating that the State Education Tax ("SET") be levied in July, beginning in 2003.
Tax bills will be sent July 1 and are due without penalty until September 14, after September 14th an interest of 1% will be added per month. These summer taxes are collected by all Township or City Treasurers.
After February 14, townships have the option to add 3% until February 28th. The Winter Tax bill will be issued December 1. This winter tax bill will NOT include any deliquent summer tax.All deliquent winter and summer tax bills will be forwarded to the county treasurer for collection on March 1st of the year after it was due.
- It is a law in the State of Michigan that if you have a dog, you MUST get that dog licensed.
- Licensing dogs makes it easier for owners to be reunited with their stray or hurt dog.
- A license shows that the dog has been vaccinated against rabies, which helps in protecting the community.
- Dog licenses need to be purchased every year or every 3 years. Late fees will apply 30 days after license expiration.
- To be able to purchase a license, you must have proof of rabies vaccination and to receive the unsexed fee, you must have proof of neuterization.
- Dog licenses can be purchased from the Mecosta County Treasurer's Office or any in-county Veterinarians office.
- Licenses are available at some local townships or city hall December 1st thru the last day of February each year.
- Citations can and will be issued if you fail to purchase a license for your dog.
Fees for Purchasing Dog LicensesOne year:
Unsexed - $4.00
Sexed - $8.00
Unsexed - $10.00
Sexed - $20.00
A $5.00 late fee will be applied if license is not renewed within 30 days of expiration.
On-line Assessment, Property Tax and Delinquent Tax Data
To view information about Credit Card Payments and Assessing, Property Tax & Delinquent Tax Data online, click here
Public Act 123 of 1999
Public Act 123 of 1999 shortens the amount of time property owners have to pay their delinquent taxes before losing their property. Property owners with taxes that are 23 months delinquent will be foreclosed and the property will be sold at public auction through the State of Michigan.
Property owners face higher interest and fees for not paying their taxes. Taxes that are more than one year old will have substantially higher interest (1.5% per month as opposed to the current 1%). After one year, taxes will also have a $175.00 forfeiture fee and additional administrative fees added to them.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
For further information and a listing of State foreclosed properties in Mecosta County, you can visit www.tax-sale.info
Once property is foreclosed for unpaid taxes, the State of Michigan becomes the FGU(Foreclosing Governmental Unit). The State will hold an auction in accordance with section 211.78m of the General Property Tax Act.
In the summer of 2017, the State of Michigan began utilizing Tax-Sale.info to conduct real property foreclosure auctions in the select counties for which they act as the Foreclosing Governmental Unit (FGU). You may direct questions regarding Tax-Sale.info auctions to 800-259-7470. All state foreclosure auction results from 2002 to present are available in the following link.
Beginning with the 2021 foreclosures, in accordance with MCL 211.78t those who hold title or equity interest in property at the time of foreclosure, may file to claim leftover proceeds, if any are available, associated to those parcels which sell for more than the owing delinquency. Claiming potential proceeds begins with filing the below form 5743 Notice of Intention to Claim Interest in Foreclosure Sales Proceeds with the Foreclosing Governmental Unit (FGU) by the July 1 immediately following the effective date of the foreclosure. The FGU will respond by January 31 following the foreclosure auctions, with a form 5744 Notice to Claimant to File Motion with the Circuit Court. Provided there actually are surplus proceeds remaining for the property, the claimant may then file a motion with the circuit court between February 1 and May 15, following the notice from the FGU. The courts will then set a hearing date and time to determine claim payments.
A claim may be made for pre-2021 foreclosure sales only if the Michigan supreme court orders that its decision in Rafaeli, LLC v Oakland County, docket no. 156849, applies retroactively. We will update this information, following any supreme court ruling.
Form 5743 Notice of Intention to Claim Interest in Foreclosure Sales Proceeds in opt-out counties should be submitted by July 1 to:
Michigan Department of Treasury
Community Services Division
PO Box 30760
Lansing, MI 48909